

Sociedade Brasileira de Pesquisa em Materiais

Symposium: Advanced Carbon Nanostructures and Composites

Scope of the Symposium

This symposium focuses on the preparation, characterization and application of carbon nanostructures (CNS), as well as their composites with organic and inorganic materials, such as metal oxides, quantum dots, metals, polymers, etc. Examples of CNS include carbon nanotubes, fullerenes and graphene. Graphene has received world-wide attention, as a result of the 2010 Nobel Prize for Physics and due to its exceptional properties. In contrast, nanotubes and fullerenes have been under investigation for a longer time and the research of these materials is more comprehensive. In all cases, the preparation of composites by the combination of CNS with inorganic or organic compounds can lead to the development of new functional materials with unique properties, which will have important roles in nanotechnology engineering and application in different areas. The aim of this symposium is to address progress at the frontiers of fundamental and applied research involving CNS and their composites.

Abstracts will be solicited in (but not limited to) the following areas:

Fundamental and applied research involving carbon nanostructures and their composites, in the following areas:

- Synthesis and chemical modification methods
- Thin film deposition
- Characterization
- Electronic and optical properties

- Carbon based devices
- Electronics applications
- Biomedical applications
- Energy production and storage
- Modeling

Tentative list of invited speakers:

- 1. S. Ravi P. Silva (University of Surrey, UK)
- 2. Neil J Coville (WITS, Africa do Sul)
- 3. Aldo JG Zarbin (UFPR)
- 4. Glaura Goulart Silva (UFMG)
- 5. Evaldo J Corat (INPE)
- 6. Ivo A Humnelgen (UFPR)
- 7. Braulio S Archanjo (INMETRO)



Sociedade Brasileira de Pesquisa em Materiais

Symposium Organizers:

1. Profa. Dra. Ana Flávia Nogueira

Instituo de Química da UNICAMP
2. Dra. Jilian Nei de Freitas
CTI - Centro de Tecnologia da Informação Renato Archer
3. Dra. Talita Mazon
CTI - Centro de Tecnologia da Informação Renato Archer
4. Prof. Dr. Cesar O. Avellaneda
CDTec, Universidade Federal de Pelotas
5. Prof. Dr. Douglas S. Galvão
Instituo de Física da UNICAMP